Postcards of the Past

Zanzibar, Tanzania

Zanzibar is a semi-autonomous region of Tanzania. It is composed of the Zanzibar Archipelago in the Indian Ocean, 25–50 kilometres off the mainland, and consists of many small islands and two large ones, Unguja and Pemba. The capital is Zanzibar City, on Unguja. Its historic centre,Stone Town, is a World Heritage Site.