New Zealand is a country which lies about 900 miles to the east and south of Australia. It consists of two large islands, North Island and South Island, as well as numerous smaller islands. The capital city is Wellington, the largest settlement Auckland. Although no longer a British Colony, it remains part of the Commonwealth. The country's population in 2011 was around 4.4 million.