Postcards of the Past

New College, Oxford

New College is so-called because its correct name, the College of St Mary, is the same as that of the older Oriel College - thus it is referred to as the New College of St Mary, or nowadays simply New College. How confusing ! And it's one of Oxford's oldest colleges, having been founded in 1379.

New College was one of the locations for the 1991 Inspector Morse episode "Fat Chance",  the 2005 film "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" and the 1997 James Bond film "Tomorrow Never Dies".

Former alumni include: Arthur Asquith : Kate Beckinsale : Tony Benn : Reginald Bosanquet : Gyles Brandreth : Richard Crossman : Angus Deayton : Hugh Gaitskell : John Galsworthy : Hugh Grant : Douglas Jardine : Brian Johnston : Len Murray : Dennis Potter.