Postcards of the Past

More Places in  Isère 

The department is divided into 29 cantons with the prefecture in Grenoble. Other places of interest include La Tour-du-Pin, Vienne and many ski resorts. In 1967 the redrawing of local government borders led to the creation of the Urban Community of Lyon. At that time intercommunal groupings of this nature were not permitted to straddle departmental frontiers, and accordingly 23 Isère communes (along with 6 communes from Ain) found themselves transferred to Rhône. Thus some of our postcards - which of course predate this move - may very well show places which are no longer in the department, although we are doing what we can to place them correctly !