Besançon is the capital of the department of Doubs and the former capital of Franche-Comté, a region in eastern France close to the border with Switzerland. Franche-Comté has since been merged with the neighbouring region of Burgundy to become Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, the capital of which is Dijon. In 2013, Besançon had a population of 116,952.