Fredericton, the capital of the Canadian province of New Brunswick, is situated in the west-central portion of the province on the Saint John River, which flows west to east as it bisects the city. This has created two distinctive regions of the city, the Northside and the Southside. The Southside has a downtown core consisting of provincial government departments, historical buildings, and numerous business establishments, as well as many of the city's cultural attractions including grand Victorian-era residences, the New Brunswick Legislative Building and Christ Church Cathedral. The city's Northside consists of several boroughs which used to be separate communities. These include Devon, Nashwaaksis, Marysville and Barker's Point, and are largely suburban neighbourhoods and retail outlets. The Northside is also home to the St. Mary's First Nation, an Indian reserve, which includes a community centre and a shopping centre.