Newfoundland and Labrador is the easternmost province of Canada, in the country's Atlantic region. It is composed of the island of Newfoundland and the continental region of Labrador to the northwest. In 2018, the province's population was estimated at 525,073, about 92% of whom live on the island of Newfoundland (and its neighbouring smaller islands), with more than half on the Avalon Peninsula. The Strait of Belle Isle separates the province into two geographical parts: Labrador, which is a large area of mainland Canada, and Newfoundland, an island in the Atlantic Ocean. The province also includes over 7,000 tiny islands. Major settlements include St John's, Gander, Corner Brook, Stephenville, Labrador City and Grand Falls.