Postcards of the Past

Hawaii, USA

The US State of Hawaii - the 50th State to join the Union - consists of hundreds of islands in the Central Pacific Ocean. There are eight main islands - Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Kahoolawe, Lanai, Molokai, Kauai and Niihau. The islands were formed by volcanic activity, and there is a Volcanoes National Park on the island of Hawaii.

Follow this link for a live webcam view of the Mauna Kea telescopes - you may have to tolerate some ads first !